How Long To Go From Beginner To Intermediate Level Guitarist?

Doctor Morbius

• Members

I realize there are no hard set rules for a timeline. I also understand that there are many factors that will affect one's ability to progress, such as lessons from a good instructor, one's natural talent and daily time spent practicing. However, in a non-scientific way please post how long it took for you to go from the first day you picked up a guitar to being an intermediate skilled level guitarist.

I've been playing for 3 years as of the end of February and still consider myself well within the beginner level. I can see it easily taking another 3 to 5 years to become what I would define as an intermediate level guitarist. I've only taken lessons for a few months and learn from repetition as most people do. And I consider myself to be somewhat of a slow learner when it comes to music. Also, having picked up a guitar for the first time at age 46 certainly hasn't helped.

• Members

i guess it depends on waht you consider an intermediate guitarist.

I don't like to think of myself as a beginner, but I'm not sure I put myself as an intermediate guitarist. I play mostly solo acoustic stuff that I can sing and play by myself, so I'm mostly just a rhythm player. But I can sing and play almost any kind of rhythm.

I've never tried to learn scales (although I'm starting to work on it a little bit)

Woudl I still be considered a beginner by most?

• Members

It's a constant process, you never stop learning I think you are not a beginner anymore once you have mastered tuning, basic chords, and can switch effortlessly between them, and have developed a decent sense of time and rhythm. After that it is all just building on the basics.

I've been playing for 35 years and still have not achieved the level that I want to, granted in that time I've been on 4 albums, 5 tours and travelled all over the world.