My thumb is dumb. Can you use your thumb - for fretting?

GAS Man

• Members

So I get out my Hendrix tab book last night :facepalm:

And there it is again, thumb fretting :cry:

[video=youtube;kE3FAY-NOiU]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kE3FAY-NOiU

I've been plunking on guitars now for near 30 years, but I've avoided thumb fretting because the feel just gives me the heebie jeebies. So I was trying again last night and I'm still total phail at it. It just seems so awkward and when I try it pulls the rest of my hand chording position out of position. '

It's so frustrating it reminds me of the anguish of just trying to learn chords like where I was at in the '80s.

It don't feel natural! :mad: Would Andres Segovia approve anyway? I don't know.

Thoughts? Advise. Your pain your gain? Or just forgettaboutit and play variations of his chords? I might as well just go and shoot my thumb down.

• Replies 54
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Members

i use it all the time. Its pretty much a necessity playing brit rock. You'll get used to it. First few songs I learned were The Jimi and back then I didnt know you werent supposed to use so it always feel right for me.

I dont know who andrea segovia is but screw her and her techniqiue.

jimi>everyone else.

• Members

I hear ya. I can do the thumb fretting pretty well, and for some of his stuff it's necessary to do it just the same. You could always get a short scale thin neck like a mustang? or? to get close to what jimi's hands could cover on a 251/2 scale.

I have seen some players do really well w/o it though. You kinda have to decide how close you need to get.

Even players who can do the 6th string thumb fret pretty well cannot do 5th string thumbed notes/chords as jimi did!!!

• Members

Now see, you're all making me look like a wuss. No other thumb phails in the crowd? Come on, fess-up. Mediocrity loves company. ;)