What do you typically get paid? where?

tinker925

• Replies 54
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Members

All the places in the bay area I have experience with pay apercentage of the bar. At least in the north bay. Don't know of any that guarantee more than $300

That's just my experience and I am pretty new at this. Where in the bay area are you playing?

UOTE=tinker925;37295648]Just wondering what the differences are?

For bar joints and parties in the Bay Area its about $100 per person.... more if we bring the PA, though.

• Members

We always bring our own sound (& usually lights, too)- like most, we're at about $300 to $400 each for the duo or solo gigs, if I bring the 5 piece, we get anywhere from 150 to 360 each, unless we scalp some of the drummer's money & tell him we got less! :badump: j/k

... and this is in the middle of nowhere, Oklahoma! I think we're pretty lucky...

• Members

I was making $75/man minimum for bar gigs and $200/man minimum for Proms and Wedding receptions 20 years ago. Sadly, while everything else has risen in price, these rates have stayed about the same.

My new band has only played four gigs in the last few months, but the past two gigs, we got $600/night for a bar gig (both were one-nighters). We're a four-piece, so that works out to $150/man. We have had to bring our own PA and lights for all gigs. I'm hoping to make more in the future, but we will have to build up our name first.

• Members

I'm not speaking for our band (we set our own gaurantee above and beyond the market) but in lower NY band (60 miles north of NYC)pay usually follows this scale.

$250-$300 for any band with small or little following who plays the dive bar circuit.

$400-600 For any band long established, with decent player but still with small draw.

$600-800 For A-list bands with decent draw (30-50+) in addition to regulars.

$1000+ for bands which consistently draw 100+ people or more per show. At this level it's really name your own price.