OT: The power of music!

BlueStrat

• Moderators

My mother-in-law was visiting from England. We don't really get on so well. Or didn't. One evening I said to her, "Wanna hear something GREAT?!?!?!?" She bristled and rolled her eyes. I put on Glenn Gould playing one of Bach's Clavier Concertos. An Adagio movement. It lasted about 8 minutes. It finished and she had tears in her eyes. "More?" She nodded yes, clearly moved. I put on Albinoni's Adagio. More tears. We spent the whole evening with my wife out working and her mom and I listening to heart melting music.

We've been OK ever since.

• Members

When I started playing solo, I realized I needed to work on relating to the audience and just needed in general experience doing that kind of gig. I approached the Bread and Roses organization and they had me do 1 hour concerts once or twice a month in nursing homes and for other shut ins. They didn't pay, in fact I took off work to do these shows. The effect it had on these audiences was really gratifying. They remain some of the most satisfying performance experiences I've ever had. One concert they wheeled in a guy on a stretcher. As I left the hall, he was giving me a thumbs up by raising his hand off the bed. It helped that the music I was playing I'd learned from an old timer who was at his professional peak in the 50's, so the audience related to the music I was playing.

If you play solo or in a small group and your jaded, go do a concert in a nursing home and you'll walk out feeling really good about what you do. I always did.

• Members

If you play solo or in a small group and your jaded, go do a concert in a nursing home and you'll walk out feeling really good about what you do. I always did.

I think that is really the key right there: finding your audience. If you don't like the environment or people you are playing for, find one that you do like (and likes you back)! Pretty simple when you think about it that way. :)

• Members

Great post, Pat.