How much effort do you put into how the stage appears?

OneThing

• Members

I like to think that people appreciate a nice looking stage arrangement. I'm very particular about how everything looks, down to the smallest detail. Everything is neat and organized, everything matches and is in balance with each other. The one thing I still need to obtain is a background or backdrop (I am new to the solo scene). I've thought about using a black cloth backdrop and hanging it on stands, or maybe two or three lightweight privacy screens instead. I've also looked at Star Cloth or LED Cloth back drops. Nothing moves me yet. Anyone have any good ideas? What are you using to complete your look? I realize that not every situation will warrant it, but I want to be prepared for any occasion. Thanks!

• Members

We have stage lights and we have a 2 1/2' X 4' banner with the name of our group and our website address on it that we put behind us sometimes. We do not use the lights or the banner for some venues, it just depends. I try minimize what I have on stage and keep what is on it well-organized (cables, etc.). I also try to keep all of my gear in mint or near mint condition so that it looks good. I use my guitars too much, and they are too old, for them to look perfectly new, but everything else does. This is about it for us.

• Members

I am toying with the idea of bringing in a nice Oriental rug and a floor lamp, maybe an end table, just top add to the intimacy vibe. My solo gigs are mellow sit-down affairs, not dance gigs, and I like the "feels like we're in a living room" vibe. of course, for a 3 hour gig, it's a lot of extra work. But I do like a tidy stage. No cases, no piles of cords, no jackets strewn around.

• Moderators