The mystery of ground hum-Why it happens and how to stop it?

• Members

I have a few questions involving my keyboard rig and ground hum that occasionally eminates from it. I've been playing keuboards now in the same band for over seven years. Although pieces of gear over time have changed, my setup configuration is usually the same...

3-4 synths/keyboards sending stereo signal using dual TS cables into a sub mixer>stereo Submix to stereo DI> Stereo DI splits two stereo signals... one that sends stereo mix to the FOH... one that sends stereo mix to my monitoring amp at my feet. What is always consistent is a degree of noise or buzz at varying volumes. Sometimes it's barely noticable... other times it so loud that when the band pauses there is a noticable hum. It depends on the room of course.

Over the years I've depended on two pieces of gear that help to diminish the 'hum' and again depending on which room we play determines which piece of gear I use. One is a Samson active DI... the other is an ART Isolation Transformer that I just call Dark magic. I usually use the DI box... however in some rooms the DI seems useless and that's when I break out the IT box. When both fail I'm foooked... as I was a few weeks back at an auditorium gig. I ripped apart my keys rig, eliminated the submixer, and plugged just two boards directly into my amp and sent the signal silently through the amp's DI.

I play in a band that incorporates alot of electronic music. Various synths and samplers to get the sounds I need. Just wondering the best way to manage all that gear with the quietest of operation.

• Members

there is no mystery; multiple paths to ground with can cause hum. this is all on the electric side of things, but can be caused by unbalanced audio connectors by mixing the ground reference with the audio ground.