1-JBL SRX-728S sub vs. 2-Yamaha SW218-Vs

• Members

I see where I can purchase a single JBL SRX-728S sub for about the same price as 2 Yamaha SW218-V's.

I've had some limited experience with both of these subs and while I thought the JBLs kicked ass, I also found the Yammies to be solid workhorses. But is one JBL gonna give me more/better low end than two Yammies? What's the opinion here?

And further down the road, would I be better off with 2 JBLs or 4 Yamahas?

• Members

jbl. the yammies have little resale value and will not last as long imho

Little resale value you say, but I can't seem to find a used pair for sale anywhere! But more seriously, I agree with your points, but what about from a strictly performance/response standpoint? What is going to put out more solid low-end? 1 JBL or two Yammies?

Here's another related question: if I go with a single JBL sub, my obvious thought would be to place it in front/center of the stage between the two stacks of mains/subs I'm using now. But what about situations where we're not playing on a proper stage? Where is the best place to situate a single sub? Under/near one stack? Still put it center and have the band set up behind it?

• Members

Little resale value you say, but I can't seem to find a used pair for sale anywhere! But more seriously, I agree with your points, but what about from a strictly performance/response standpoint? What is going to put out more solid low-end? 1 JBL or two Yammies?

Here's another related question: if I go with a single JBL sub, my obvious thought would be to place it in front/center of the stage between the two stacks of mains/subs I'm using now. But what about situations where we're not playing on a proper stage? Where is the best place to situate a single sub? Under/near one stack? Still put it center and have the band set up behind it?