Ebow users I have a question

mikeoxlong

• Members

Just got an e bow, i love it, I've used them before, but I don't see how responsive some people can get them. Is a compressor required for this? Special pickups? When I talk responsive I mean when you hover it over the string it instantly produces a tone, causing very cool violin effects...

any tips?

• Members

The signal will get stronger the closer to a pickup you get. And not just the one that's on - like L_Z_nut said, it can get too dirty if you come too close to the active pickup, but you can also try moving closer to another pickup to increase the intensity. For this reason, I find the e-bow to be easier to control on two-pickup guitars, where there's more room in between.

It takes lots of practice (I'm no expert by any standard), and you'll also have to adjust the volume quite a bit. If you want a quicker attack, you'll need to hover over one of the pickups and then move the e-bow quickly into position (down towards the strings). This will get quite loud, compared to playing in between the pickups, so you need to lower the guitar volume accordingly.

/Andreas

• Members

Practice...Yup

You'll need to find the sweet spot. One place over the pickup will be much louder than everywhere else. It just takes practice to hit that.

It also helps if the string is already vibrating.

My favorite thing for string sounds is roll back the tone knob (no treble) and tame it with a volume pedal.

P.S. I have covered pickups. They have no problem with the ebow.

• Members

A volume pedal is a must IMO.

Absolutely.

And yes, position is VERY important.

I think they used to make a much more powerful version, which would allow you to do things like arpeggios. But position over the pickups is the most important thing to master.

Experiment and get a feel for when it "kicks in" and when it looses power.

• Members