Guitar volume knobs-how do you use them?

chu2

• Members

Lately I realized that even if I'm playing clean, I still throw on an overdrive to beef up any solos I do, even though I could just turn the volume knob down a bit and crank it for the solo without using effects.

So I started playing around with the volume control more, and it really made me question the way I have my overdrives and distortions set, volume-wise. I ended up dropping the volume on my gain pedals quite a bit to almost unity with my clean amp setting.

Anyone else find that they don't use the volume control as much as they should/had this kind of revelation? :confused:

• Members

I recently got that volume pot mod where a capacitor keeps the treble from getting lost when you roll off. It's great! I used to always play on 10 because it sounded dead when turned volume down. But now I can use most of the volume knob range and it sounds good. A lot more possibilities now.

• Members

Depends on the rig, the guitar in question, and the type of music that I'm playing.

On my Teles, I'm constantly adjusting them, though.

I am NOT a fan of the school of thought that says "Put your volume on 10 for solos and high gain, roll it back for your cleans". I've found the clean channel always suffers, no matter the circumstance.

Hence my 3 overdrives and a separate boost pedal on my main board.

• Members