Jazzmaster owners...

arcaneaether

• Members

I need some help making a decision.

I have a MIJ Jazzmaster - amazing guitar but as you may have heard, the pickups are not great.

I've recently been in contact with a pickup maker (Catswhisker pickups) and I'm thinking it's a good option to go for as I've had some glowing reviews from people.

The question is, he makes normal Jazzmaster pickups (I assume to vintage-ish spec), and also makes P90 Jazzmaster pickups (fitting in normal Jazzmaster pickup covers). Which should I go for? I like lots of body to the sound, plenty of clang but not too twangy. I'm thinking the P90 but have no experience with the classic JM sound - is it that good that I should go for it? Youtube demos aren't that representative of their sound, and I've heard lots of praise for "the classic Jazzmaster sound".

Thanks.

TL;DR - vintage spec or P90 pickups for a Jazzmaster?

• Members

Some people don't think the bridge pickup on the Jazzmaster is great so you might want to try a vintage style neck and a P90 bridge PU. It would give the guitar a unique sound but you could still just use the neck pickup if you want a more authentic Jazzmaster sound. Best of both worlds?

• Members

I have a Novak p90 bridge and a Novak regular JM pickup in the neck. The p90 still sounds a lot like a regular Jazzmaster pickup, it doesn't sound like a full on Gibson P90. My guitar tech didn't even know it wasn't a traditional Jazzmaster pickup but he did comment on how nice it sounded.

I told Curtis Novak I was going for a Weezer Blue Album type of sound and I can come pretty close but it's still a Jazzmaster sound.

• Members

Some people don't think the bridge pickup on the Jazzmaster is great so you might want to try a vintage style neck and a P90 bridge PU. It would give the guitar a unique sound but you could still just use the neck pickup if you want a more authentic Jazzmaster sound. Best of both worlds?