Made the jump from 10's to 11's....

companyman

• Replies 55
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Members

:thu:

I love 11s. Been using them for a couple of years now. I put a 9-46 set on my squier strat (first guitar) the other day because I had them lying around and couldn't justify using my 11s on a guitar that I don't use regularly. I can't stand them. They just feel so awkward to play now, and there's no substance to the feel or sound.

• Members

my firebird's pickups are really low output, so I think that the extra metal moving around above them is making my tone fuller, especially with the bridge pickup by itself....it is pretty weak sounding with 10's.

I've been using 12s on my standard tuned Firebird for two years. I dig it. I'm never afraid of breaking a string, and everything is nice and full sounding. I only have problems if I slack off on practicing and let my hands get out of shape. Then it gets a little rough, but after a few days, I'm right back up to speed.

I've never understood the "it's gonna damage your guitar" argument. Acoustics routinely use strings in that guage range, and are inherently a more fragile instrument. They seem to handle the string tension just fine.

• Members

I am going to give it a day, giving the neck some time to get used to the added tension, and check the intonation and truss rod.
I have read that usually one gauge up is ok, but 2 up and you have to start making adjustments.

How true is this? I've been thinking of switching my tele from 10 to 11's but I'm worried I have to make some adjustments if I decide to do so...any more info?

• Members

How true is this? I've been thinking of switching my tele from 10 to 11's but I'm worried I have to make some adjustments if I decide to do so...any more info?