What are your favorite software instruments?

Tomkeen

• Members

Hai all,

I've been thinking of adding some softsynths to my rig. I've always been a hardware guy and tried to avoid the computer as much as possible. Tweaking sounds or selecting them seemed like too much work for me, but now I have the X-station that won't be a problem anymore.

I have some experience with the Korg Legacy collection and NI B4 (the original). I just downloaded the B4 II demo and compared it to my PC3x. Wow. I didn't remember it sounding that good, or is the new version just a big improvement? I remember there being a demo of KLC too, but cannot find it anymore. Anyway, I want to add both B4 II and KLC digital edition too my stuff, since I have a perfectly good working macbook, which I bought for all things music anyway.

What are you're favorite softsynths and what do you use them for?

• Members

Vember Audio Surge is my favorite softsynth. I use it for everything really, but have found that its wavetable oscillators really excel at deep, clear bass sounds. It sounds unique and fits in great with the hardware synths I have.

Some other softsynths that are growing on me - Albino 3, Synplant,and Olga.

I'm not really a fan of the NI stuff, it always felt clunky to use even on a high powered machine. The Arturia synths and most of the other 'analog emulators' fall short in my opinion...I tend to gravitate toward the softsynths that actually take advantage being in the software domain.

• Members

I own what I would call an embarrassingly large number of VST instruments. My current personal favorites are:

Waldorf Largo (new and improving)

Camel Audio Alchemy (sample mangling and making odd noises)

Rob Papen Blue (multi-operator FM/hybrid - NI FM8 is a close second)

FXpansion Guru for messing around with rhythm and drum patterns (might be augmented and superseded by NI Maschine some time soon).

Vaz Modular (flexible and fun modular with lots of modules)