amps effects loops, do you use em or not?

MuyLoCo444

• Members

So I got the new 6505 112 yesterday, finally, and am curious about the effects loop. I guess there is no harm in trying it out, but I have always used my pedals in the front of the amp instead of the loop. I am curious to see how my EQ pedal will fare out in the effect loop. So do you use it and if so what type of pedals do you use in it?

• Members

The EQ will have a way bigger impact in the loop.

This.

Me, I like delays/reverbs (maybe not if I had a tape delay, but I don't) in the loop. I like to run modulation fx (many of which are essentially delay based) in the loop too. I prefer to have the gain/filter fx in front, excepting graphic eq and some parametric eq.

• Members

I'm no novice to playing or gear...but I have never really heard a good explanation as to why it makes a big difference to run anything through the loop.

I really don't play with a lot of effects. I use the amp overdrive, a tuner, DD-6 and a Holier Grail (sometimes).
Should I run the two effects through the loop? Will I notice a big difference?

• Members

I have never really heard a good explanation as to why it makes a big difference to run anything through the loop.

If you are not trolling, here are two good reasons for not running delay in front of your amp if you use high gain on the amp:

1. An amp that distorts compresses.

So your delay that ideally should trail gradually off into the distance will be compressed to be much louder than intended and keep its volume.

Imo that makes for a mushy sound.

You could compensate for that by turning down the delay output, but that leads us to problem No. 2...

2. If you use your amps distortion your delays will gradually clean up, as the delay signal gets weaker. Or if you already have a low delay output (as outlined above) your delay signal will be significantly less distorted than your main guitar tone.