Best DAW for a Mac???

Chrisjd

• Members

I recently made a thread regarding mac VS pc for recording. I love my PC but decided to also get a Mac book pro.

I am trying to be a little conservative when it comes to spending money as i just bought this new computer.

I am a COMPLETE n00b asshole when it comes to DAWS. I know NOTHING.

I need to start somewhere. What are the best choice(s) for macs? I hear reaper is better on PC but Logic is for Mac? What about pro tools?

• Members

Dude, start with GarageBand. Once you feel comfortable with it and feel like it can't do particular things you need, then step up to logic. FWIW, I've been using GarageBand for about 5 years and still don't feel a need to go to logic. What's nice though is that you can open GarageBand files in logic, so if/when you don't have to start over with anything.

• Members

I love Logic Pro but it is far from fiscally conservative.

Use Garageband to get started - Apple has really pumped it up over the past two releases. Really, Garageband will probaly do everything you need for a while. Most of what you learn in Garagband can be directly applied to Logic.

I use Logic Pro, but my son does good work in Garageband.

• Members

and good advice on starting with garage band to get a feel for the whole process of recording.

Yep, just about everything you learn in GB will port to Logic. I switched to Logic right when v8 came out it was a lot to learn at once and GB wasn't nearly as good. In GB11 they ported a few of the Logic 9 concepts to GB. Now GB is great for knocking stuff out.

• Members

and good advice on starting with garage band to get a feel for the whole process of recording.

it's really solid for people just starting out, especially for the price (free with Mac)

you can use most interfaces with it with no lag. I used my Toneport and loved it since a lot of the extra features in the "real" DAW's weren't needed for basic clips/songs. Garageband is very user friendly.