Crossing over : acoustic to electric

kwakatak

• Members

Lately I've been taking more of an interest in my electric guitar. It's not that I'm getting tired of playing my acoustic so much as I just want to branch out and hopefully keep from falling in a rut. I've been playing for over 20 years easy, both electric and acoustic but it's always been one or the other exclusively. Each time, I've switched when playing one became stale and therefor not much fun. This time I feel the beginnings of a slowdown in my playing and I want to head it off.

What I didn't remember was how hard playing electric is for me. I find myself having trouble getting a "feel" of the instrument and I have to work harder at it than I do with the acoustic. I just no instinct for fiddling with amp and effects settings. I've also found that the electric is unforgiving when you have any degree of sloppiness in your technique. What's really different this time (and bear with me but it ties in with the last point on technique) is that since I've given up playing with a flatpick for precision picking on my acoustic I'm having even more difficulty making the transition and flubbing notes all over the place.

So to try and solve this difficulty I've been lurking and occassionally posting over at the electric guitar forum. It ain't quite home to me (like the acoustic guitar forum here is) and in many ways I'm actually a bit of a newbie again. In fact, I must admit that I also do not use the search button either! :o

To their credit, nobody has flamed me so much - the perks of being a senior member I guess - but I cringe every time I hit the post button over there.