Off on a trip - guitarless, or?

outdoorgb

• Members

Well, most know I'm a noob since last September. I practice/play 1.5 to

3 hours a day and have great teacher.

Work sends me out into the world with little notice...now I'm off to France, Trust me...these "go next week to insert country here trips are anything but glamorous or a vacation. My true desire is to not order calf brains for dinner some night:freak:

So, I'm thinking of getting a Washburn Rover to take with me. Money is not an issue and they seem to get better reviews than the Martin back packers.

Do these really fit into "todays" carry on and overhead bins? Anyone done it recently?

I may not do it and take a harmonica but...I'm sad and will miss my routine. Perhaps I'll get a chance to visit a shop in Paris or the other two cities I'll visit.

• Members

I started out with the same thought, but after playing several including the Washburn, the Martin backpacker, baby Taylor -> I bought a Little Martin. It is all high pressure laminate except bridge & fretboard, so it doesn't have as much temperature/humidity susceptibility and the finish wears like iron.

Overall a bit bigger, but has nice tone, good feel to the neck and is very solidly built. Not a full size guitar sound, but way more satisfying than a backpacker "banjo" sound. Gig bag style case that comes with it is very well made and very well paddes -- and fits overhead in most planes.

• Members

Well two of my friends are planning on a trip to Frence also, and they don't have very good budget and have been looking at the Martin LX1 Little martin acoustic guitar, they are said to be good choice for beginner or travel guitar. And they find some reviews for it online, and so a deal on it for $300. Maybe you can have a look at that.

• Members