Good reason to buy a new guitar?

u6crash

• Members

Two weeks from Sunday I am playing a solo acoustic show and both of my guitars need work. One has high action (I think due to a too high bone saddle I put in) and the saddle is angling back severely (I think I removed too much material from the front) and has some amount of fret wear causing a small amount of buzzing. The other has quite a bit of fret wear and may even need a couple frets replaced. The two luthiers I trust to do this work are booked leaving me with going to one I've never worked with before. From the prices on his website, i estimate the work I want to get done will be in excess of $350. There is a guitar I feel will be suitable for the show for sale at $350.

Further, I'd kind of like to learn how to do some of this work myself. I could maybe invest $350 in tools to fix them, but I don't want to start tackling this right now with two weeks to go and uncertain of my skills (not to mention the fact that I'm living out of suitcases and boxes while I wait to close on my first house).

I don't really need a third acoustic guitar, but wouldn't mind one. I could sell it later, but won't get what I pay for it. It would give me something without fretwear to play while I experiment on my existing guitars (neither of which, I should mention, are expensive instruments; don't worry, I'm not hacking away at a high dollar Martin or Taylor). And I'm also interested in building one of the StewMac acoustic kits one day (so a future investment in tools is something I'm planning on anyway).

What would you do? I know if I bought a new guitar and in the next year I also built one I would probably start to sell a couple of them. Or maybe I'll be that weird guitar with several acoustic guitars.

• Members

What guitar are you thinking of buying for $350?

c250s-main.jpg