Issues with Clipping

• Members

Hey, so I'm working on processing my drum tracks right now. I recorded a full drum set for my band. What's really confusing me right now is that when I play the individual tracks none of them clip. However, when I play the whole set, the output bus clips....? Why would the drums not clip on the solo'd tracks, and then clip when I put them all together? Even if I just play the snare with the kick it clips, but the snare and kick by themselves don't clip at all??

I'm new to all this so I'm hoping there's a simple answer.

Thanks

• Members

Oh haha is that really all it is? Wow I feel dumb now. I am really new to this. I just thought that if the individual channel output levels were below clipping that the whole mix would be below clipping. It makes it a bit difficult to figure out which track needs to be turned down to stop the mix from clipping. I guess all of them if I like the relative levels in my mix. I'm trying to make a rough master in cubase so I'm just trying to get all the tracks as loud as I can, without the mix clipping.

thanks

• Members

For the project I'm working on right now I have a limiter on every drum track set around -10 or so, when all the tracks are added together and the faders brought down nothing clips. Stuff does add up.

Just listen to your snare solo'd and then duplicate that track and listen to both snares solo'd, both are considerably louder.

• Members

Can you group faders in Cubase? Set your relative levels, group them, then lower it until the master isn't clipping. Then lower it some more (assuming you're recording additional instruments) and turn your monitors up.

• Members