Strat setup help

FWAxeIbanez

• Members

Hey guys, I changed strings on my strat which was set up perfectly before, and I tried to get the same gauge I had but I messed up somehow and my action is all out of wack...

I lowered the bridge saddles, but they are waaaay low and there is still a ton of room between the strings and the 12th fret... I went from 9's on an unknown brand to 9's from D'dario or whatever they are called, and I know that the other string sizes vary but I thought it'd just call for minimal adjustment. Before I lowered the saddles you could almost put your pinky inbetween the strings and the fretboard without touching either...

Is it time to hit up the truss? I've never done this before so I'm not exactly jumping at the opportunity to grab a wrench and let her rip, you know?

I did lower the saddles so much that I had to lower the bridge pickup as well because the strings were touching the pole pieces. Something tells me that I shouldn't have had to worry about that...

I'm admittedly not a guitar tech in any sense of the word, so any help you seasoned veterans can offer up would be great

• Members

Geeze, I can barely even find the truss rod... normally its where the neck meets the body or its up on the headstock by the nut right??

the hole up by the nut doesn't seem to have anything in it, or at least I can't find the bolt thing... wouldn't it be visible in order to gauge the size needed to work with it?

Nothin down on the end of the fretboard either... under the pickgaurd maybe? Seems unlikely because usually you need to dial in the truss with full string resistance right?

I'm new to this stuff and it doesn't lend itself well to intuition does it? :freak:

• Members