ever have an impromptu jam session at GC or other music store?

guitarman3001

• Members

I've done that!

I was in the acoustic guitar room at my local guitar store with the door open trying out a Yamaha. I heard some guy in the electric guitar section start in on some Who songs. I started playing along with him (loud strumming, PT style), and I then heard somebody on the drum set. I laughed and went along with it for a couple of minutes and we ended up in the middle of Tommy somewhere.
It was good fun. They seemed to especially appreciate the "Mr. Walker went out to sea, his unborn son would never know him" part I started bellowing out.

I laughed out loud. Good fun, for sure.

• Members

Back when Mars was still around, a friend of mine was getting a stereo put in his car and he and I went over to Mars. He was a GREAT singer and in the acoustic room I was playing More Than Words and he was singing along just banging the chords out and three different people asked what the name of our band was.

Not the hardest song in the world, but I definitely took it as a compliment considering that, other than singing like idiots at work, that was the first time we had ever performed together at all.

Only other time was kinda anti-climactic. A guy was playing some Metallica and ended up playing the lead intro to Fade To Black and I played along with the arpeggiated bit along with him. I probably would have been more into it if the roles were reversed.

:lol:

• Members

Ive had poeple start jamming with me in music stores, but usually its a stupid one upmanship sort of deal.