When setting up a Strat do you adjust action or intonation first?

elsupermanny14

• Members

I want to learn how to set up my Strat. I have never done so before and am therefore curious as to what order to follow. Do I set up the action first on my guitar and then the intonation or visa versa? What happens if after setting up your intonation you want to change your action? Do you need to redo the intonation?

Another questions is if there is a predetermined saddle hight or space to start from and then go from there?

If it helps its a Squier Strat with a standard tremolo.

• Members

Where yo will have fun too, it's that in floating trem configuration, whe your saddle bridge unit is at an angle, changing the intonation changes the action....... as you are moving the saddle bit on an angled platform.

Move your saddle towards the neck, your action gets lower, move your saddle back and your action gets higher....

• Members

The entire series is very helpful and worth watching. Here's the intonation video.

With its floating bridge, the Strat is a bit tricky to set up correctly. All adjustments need to work together in harmony.

[YOUTUBE]QEZzELeOclw&feature=channel[/YOUTUBE]

• Members

Since you are wanting to learn to do setups, I would recommend googling "guitar setup how to" and then read over the numerous tutorials. The point is to understand the WHY behind every adjustment.....not just the how. You'll notice that people do things slightly differently which is also the point of reading the numerious tutorials.....there is no set in stone method for many things. Remember a setup is all about personal preference and one guitarist's ideal setup might feel like crap to you.

• Members

neck relief (truss rod), then nut slot depth, then action, then intonation.

This.

FWIW, I do check the intonation FIRST as DaleH said and get it in the ball park, then do the setup in the order above.