Any headphones really stand out from others?

veracohr

• Members

I need a new pair of headphones. I've been using the same pair for 15 years now, and the right side just went. I could probably fix them if I wanted, but at this point it's probably time to get a new pair.

I'd like some suggestions.

The pair I've been using are Sony MDR-7506. I know a lot of people have a bad opinion of them, but I've gotten used to them. I could of course just get a new pair of the same model, but I'm wondering if there's something that would serve me better.

I've re-read this thread: I'm Getting More and More Convinced about Mixing with Headphones, but there's a lot of different models mentioned there.

So here's some info on what I want and how I use my headphones:

- I'm looking around $100. More than one person in that thread had good things to say about the Audio-Technical ATH-M50, and at $160 they're a bit higher than ideal but I could probably swing it.

- One of the most important things I've used my 7506's for is checking low end in my mixes and masters. I have 7" nearfield monitors (ADAM A7) and do my mixing in my apartment, so I rely on the headphones to give me an alternate reference with better low end, even if it's hyped. I make electronic music, so low end is important.

- I don't have particular need of isolation in terms of studio work, like keeping out the sound of a drummer a few feet away, but still isolation is good. I like the closed-ear style of the 7506.

- I also use my headphones for casual listening.

- They need to be relatively comfortable for at least a few hours at a time.

So those Audio-Technica seem to be well-liked. I also remember hearing more than once in the past about Grado headphones. I checked out their website, and honestly a lot of their marketing text sounds like audiophile snake oil: