I tend to buy guitars based on image.

honeyiscool

• Members

There I said it. Is that so bad?

I think all well-made instruments can be adapted to. Sure, I have preferences and all but at the end of the day, I think some guitarists are a bit too bitchy about gear. I'm primarily a pianist and you know what, you NEVER know what you're going to get when you're a pianist unless you're one of the few successful ones that take their instruments everywhere. Sometimes, you don't even get to play the instrument you'll be performing with until you sit down at your piano in front of a live audience. If you're doing a performance and the left pedal doesn't work, whatever, you're going to have to control the dynamics yourself. If you prefer your action feather light and your keys feel like weighted with lead, tough luck. If some of the keys are uneven, figure it out and play it so it sounds even. If you ever say, "I'm not gonna play this Kawai because I only play Steinway," you'll never get another performance.

With that in mind, I wonder if it's so bad that I openly admit to buying instruments I find visually interesting (as long as they're decently made) and then just take it for granted that eventually I can find a good use for it. As long as the instrument's been made decently, the feel can be adjusted to. Don't like the sound? Change the pickups! I've never found a guitar whose sound I couldn't bring to my liking with the right pickups.

Anyway, yeah, that.

• Replies 53
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Members

With that in mind, I wonder if it's so bad that I openly admit to buying instruments I find visually interesting (as long as they're decently made) and then just take it for granted that eventually I can find a good use for it. As long as the instrument's been made decently, the feel can be adjusted to. Don't like the sound? Change the pickups! I've never found a guitar whose sound I couldn't bring to my liking with the right pickups.

Anyway, yeah, that.