recommend me strings

mister kyo

• Members

i'm a guitarist, but i play the bass in all the recordings i make. i recently sold my main bass cause i needed the money...so now, i'm trying to get my cheapy p-bass sound passable for recordings.

so here's the deal: i only play 4 string, E standard. it's only for recording direct. i play hardcore/punk music. i want bright, bright, bright tone, maybe even excessively bright. kind of clanky, metallic...basically i want my bass not to just add lowend to the mix, but to standout a little and be heard. i want them to last as long as possible, cause i'm not a rich man. i have no need for versatility, i don't care if they're goofy color coatings, etc, since i'm the only one who'll ever see it.

so, i'm thinking elixers would be the best bet...BUT, i have no idea what the best gauge would be considering it's always E standard. i don't really care how it feels to play it, since i won't be playing a lot, and the music i play is fairly easy...all i care about is the tone on the recording. i'm also open to any suggestions. all i know is that i've had regular DR and ernie ball strings on both basses, and while they got the job done, they didn't impress me after a few weeks, and were never really as bright as i'd like.

• Members

DR lo rider stainless steel. The SS will give you a nice and bright tone...much brighter than nickel. I say DR since most SS strings are very rough...the DR are not. They also have a great tension to them. My favorite strings by far! Very punchy as well.

I've played D'Addario & EB SS strings...they just plain hurt my fingers.

• Members