Im sick of playing the guitar. how to get into bass?

emir

• Members

Hey guys, this would be the first time for me posting here.

first of all, i blame a forumite over at GJ for posting a Victor Wooten vid. of course, i was naturally gobsmacked. im not too shabby at the guitar (im a fingerstyle acoustic guitarist, been playing for 15) http://nz.youtube.com/watch?v=Nyk84idMiaw for a vid of mine. but the style of heavy funk is unequivocally cool. i dig it.

I suppose now is a good time for me to start back from square one, as i have no formal music training whatsoever. tabs are both a blessing and a curse. i need to learn rhythm and groove properly, some music theory, etc.

any advice for a guitarist treading this new waters? any recco for an adequate budget bass for me to get started?

• Members

any advice for a guitarist treading this new waters? any recco for an adequate budget bass for me to get started?

Understand that equipment is quite a bit heavier and more expensive and you'll need about 4X the power as a guitarist.

• Members

hey, whats the difference between a P and a J bass?

Ps rule and the J is a mere pretender.

m/:evil:m/

j/k. I love a good J.

You're gonna hear a lot of subjective things about tone...Ps are boomier, Js have more growl, etc.

It all comes down to what you prefer. Get thee to a music store and try out a P and a J.

Fender Js have narrower necks and two pups.

Fender Ps have huge hairy sacks.

• Members

first of all, i blame a forumite over at GJ for posting a Victor Wooten vid. of course, i was naturally gobsmacked. im not too shabby at the guitar (im a fingerstyle acoustic guitarist, been playing for 15)
for a vid of mine. but the style of heavy funk is unequivocally
cool
. i dig it.

I suppose now is a good time for me to start back from square one, as i have no formal music training whatsoever. tabs are both a blessing and a curse. i need to learn rhythm and groove properly, some music theory, etc.