I don't want to be "the guy" anymore

msmooth

• Members

I am in a 4 piece band playing a mixture of classic rock, country and oldies. Guitar, bass, drums and keys. I play guitar and do 1/2 of lead vocals. I have come to realize that I do not enjoy playing lead guitar. I find my soloing to be boring. I try to find songs without solos and get my keyboardist to solo as often as possible. I do feel that I am a very competant 2nd/rythm guitarist.

I feel stuck, because 2 of the other guys don't really want to go to 5 people. But I think I am going to ask them to consider it. What I need is a lead guitarist/saxaphonist/steel player who can play a bit of harmonica and fiddle.

• Members

You could start learning the other instruments and be that guy. A friend of mine taught himself keys over the last couple years and is now reasonably competent on it, for most material.

• Members

Is this a joke?

Who's handling saxophone, steel, harmonica, and fiddle currently?

No one is, he wants to add a "lead guitarist/saxaphonist/steel player who can play a bit of harmonica and fiddle."

• Members

I am in a 4 piece band playing a mixture of classic rock, country and oldies. Guitar, bass, drums and keys. I play guitar and do 1/2 of lead vocals. I have come to realize that I do not enjoy playing lead guitar. I find my soloing to be boring. I try to find songs without solos and get my keyboardist to solo as often as possible. I do feel that I am a very competant 2nd/rythm guitarist.

I feel stuck, because 2 of the other guys don't really want to go to 5 people. But I think I am going to ask them to consider it. What I need is a lead guitarist/saxaphonist/steel player who can play a bit of harmonica and fiddle.

Another guitarist sounds like it would be the best solution. Sell them on it. One selling point,1: It opens up many song possibilities. B) Can allow for rhythm gtrist(you) to focus on the vocal, having the other guy playing rhythm. Often, a good thing.