Pa Systems?

• Members

I'm a solo musician that plays small venues and I use an acoustic/electric guitar. I'm in the market for a PA and I'm open to suggestions as to which one to buy. I have heard about JBL, Bose, Yamaha, Behringer, Yorkville. Just looking to spend less than a $1000.00 if possible to oen.

• Replies 55
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Members

They work pretty well.. Just be advised that expansion is impossible without spending another couple grand and they won't work well in any larger venue.

You will end up with a very expensive system that works fine for small coffee house type gigs with one or two musicians..and no ability whatsoever to be expanded without doubling the cost.

We have a local music store here with a used Bose system for sale for $1,200.

My suggestion is to buy a powered mixer and a decent set of 12" mains. You can set the speakers up so you can hear yourself.

If you get bigger venues, simply add a couple larger speakers.

• Members

Don't discount the bose. The coverage is very even. (Unusual for most systems.) frequency response very nice, easily portable and suitable for voice or instrument without beating heavily on your eardrums.

Works like this. If you're close to it, you only hear 1-3 of the drivers. (The others cancel each other out because of the angle to your ears.) As you or your audience are further away, you'll be hearing more of the drivers as they start blending with the ones at ear level. When you've reached the point that all the drivers are adding to the sound you hear, from that point on, the level of sound will drop off. Pretty cool. I'd like to run a db meter and watch the volume finally start to drop off some 40+ feet away.

Yea, it's pricey, inefficient, sounds great and all bose. The last two are the only things that count.

• Members