Fuzz pedal info

Manni

• Members

Hi all, I'm very new to fuzz pedals and havent bought one yet, however the fuzz pedal kits on eBay look awesome plus they're cheap, anyway Q1) how would I increase the "grittiness" of the pedal (I was interested in the OBNE haunt fuzz which is amazing but out of my budget) as in what components would help me change this aspect?

Q2) are there any pedals out there to the afore mentioned haunt fuzz pedal but <£100?

Q3) Would you recommend the kit, or does it ave any major downfalls?

many thanks, Manni

• Members

from just 2 minutes of the 20 minutes video at there homepage it sounds like a super fuzz like pedal, so if you get a kit of that kind you maybe can mod it for extra gate etc....

i guess it helps if you know what you are doing, otherwise you will end up with a non working modded kit instead of a nice pedal

if budget is a limit, have look around what other pedals are there which might sound similar, there are literaly thousands of pedals there are tons in the <100pounds range as some above have suggested

• Members
how would I increase the "grittiness" of the pedal (I was interested in the OBNE haunt fuzz which is amazing but out of my budget) as in what components would help me change this aspect?

Without seeing the schematic and having heard the pedal I have no idea what would need to be done. (Neither would anyone else)

I can give you some general information. There are several different types of fuzz pedals. Some are two transistor designs like the Fuzz face. Others are three transistor designs like many MKII type pedals. Some are 4 transistor designs like the Big Muff.