For you guys that go camping, I've got a question for you.

loosegroove

• Members

My girlfriend and I are driving cross country this november (early in the month) and will be camping in CA and Utah. Should we buy 20 degree sleeping bags or 0 degree? In the future we will probably be using them in the spring, summer, fall in the North East. I don't want to be too warm but probably better too warm than too cold. What do you think? I've found a good deal on some Kelty Mummy style bags.

• Members

Before I was a pedal geek, I was (and still am) a camping, biking, hiking nut. Maybe I can help you out.
Even it you will be in the mountains, the 20 should be fine even if the temp does drop.
But honestly, you are much better off getting a double that you can share or 2 "mateable" bags so you can have the option to keep each other warm.
FWIW I have a 40 degree REI travel sack that packs smaller than a football for solo bicycle touring purposes. If it gets really cold, I just wear any winter hat (because you lose most of your warmth from your neck and head). You can also put on a sweatshirt or stuff one of those thin fleece airplane blankets in the bag if it gets too cold (i love those). The winter hat is key though. No need for a 0 degree unless you plan on winter camping.
Also, if you were considering it, theres no need to get a down sleeping bag. They are nicer, but the downfall is besides the price, if they get wet, they take FOREVER to dry. They're also more difficult to clean.
Good quality synthetic fill sleeping bags dry fast and last longer in a way keeping an even loft throughout the bag. Not to mention they are much cheaper.
I have loads of camping tips if you need.
Heres two: