Anyone use EZ Drummer?

• Members

I have a MacBook Pro.

I have Garageband and some form of Cubase.

Thinking about getting EZ Drummer. MF has a seemingly sweet deal/rebate on this and an expansion pack at moment.

I have NO MIDI experience.

I am a complete noob when it comes to programming drums on a computer. In the past, I liked using the step-sequencer on my drum machine...so I have no idea what I am getting myself into.

Absolutely clueless here.

Advice?

• Members

As far as programming your own loops with EZDrummer, I have no idea. Someone else may have to answer that, I'm green to MIDI programming. There are a ton of premade loops within, though, that you just drag and drop where you want them on a track. It's handy, and it sounds great.

• Members

So if you are completely lazy (meaning you don't want to make the loops yourself), EZDrummer will let you piece together a song using loops?

I am really new to the whole idea of "loops," so forgive the stupid question.

• Members

Go with Addictive Drums over EZ Drummer, it just sounds better. Both really easy to use though, I had no experience with them before I tried them.

There are some handy youtube tutorials on both programmes for how to get up and running with them quickly.

Both can easily be had for free with a bit of internet thievery.

• Members

It really is easy. You simply drag a loop from the browser and copy and paste it for as long as u want it to play and a fill from the browser then another loop and so on. I highly recommend tis program. I can post a track that it took me literally ten minutes to do the drums with ez drummer if u want to hear an example.

• Members

I'll second the vote for addictive drums, the main draw is that they have great grooves/midi patterns, release expansions for every style of music, and have great sounding compression, eq, and reverb already on the drums. It's basically the hassle-free version of superior drummer, and sounds awesome right out of the box.