I'm trying to learn Jazz. . . what scale should I start with?

jetmarshall

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Members

actually..study chord theory and harmony first...a big part of Jazz improv isn't just scales..but playing over the "changes" or chord tones.... I could be wrong but most of the big guns don't even think of scales when soloing ...

• Members

Originally posted by t-rave

actually..study chord theory and harmony first...a big part of Jazz improv isn't just scales..but playing over the "changes" or chord tones.... I could be wrong but most of the big guns don't even think of scales when soloing ...

Sure. I'm studying chords as well. Slowly working through "Chord Chemistry" by Ted Greene. Just thought I may work on scales as a complement.

• Members

When I think of metal, I don't think theres a certain scale you have to learn to play it. You could write in any scale. Same with any rock or blues or whatever. Sure there are scales that are used more, but its more about a certain playing style than it is about a certain scale. My advice is to learn some jazz songs and get a good feel for the musical style, then do your own thing from there.

-Joe

• Members

+1 if you can get the chord melody thing down then the soloing should be easy. If you can sell the melody using chordal changes then you are on your way. Personaly, I am not even close. I'm just not good enough.

• Members

Originally posted by OverDriven

When I think of metal, I don't think theres a certain scale you have to learn to play it. You could write in any scale. Same with any rock or blues or whatever. Sure there are scales that are used more, but its more about a certain playing style than it is about a certain scale. My advice is to learn some jazz songs and get a good feel for the musical style, then do your own thing from there.

-Joe

Yeah great post there guy. You definitely don't want to learn scales for jazz (or any genre for that matter) :rolleyes: