OT: Anybody here a Chemistry or Phyiscs major or have an occupation in science?

EpiPaul03

• Members

Just wondering if some of you fellas could give me some advice on this matter. I know, it's pretty random, but it's the end of my junior year and I should probably start to think of this kind of stuff. Plus, I'm getting pretty excited about the whole thing!

:D

Anyways, here goes:

I'm currently interested in pursuing either a degree in Chemistry, or a degree in physics, or perhaps some sort of combined degree. I'm really, really having trouble figuring out which I want to focus on more, though. I am very interested in theoretical physics, astrophysics, acousticphysics (mainly because I'm a musician), but the problem is is that I'm not sure how the whole job situation will work out. I know that they say if you love what you're doing to do it, but I have to make a decent living and I would hate to go as far as a PHD and not be able to find work.

So this is when I decided to look at getting a chemistry degree since I'm equally interested in it. I'm not as familiar in these fields as I am in phyiscs, though, so this is especially where I'm looking for some advice. I know there are a lot more jobs in chemistry and a degree in chemistry can open A LOT of doors, or rather keep a lot of doors open.

Basically, I'll probably end up going for a PH.D in either case. Money really isn't a factor, as long as I can make a decent living off of it.

Another thing I'm not sure about is schooling, and this is something that needs solved considering I'm going to be applying this fall. I live in Ohio and have already checked out Ohio State University and Ohio Uniiversity. I loved both schools, but I'm wondering if other schools may offer some better education. I'd really like to go where some of my friends are going, but if there's a HUGE difference in educational offering, I may just have to go on my own. I also plan on checking out MIT just for the hell of it -- you never know.