You drum machine usin' loser!

u6crash

• Members

Is that what everyone will tell me if I use a drum machine on my recordings? The thing is that I have a drumset, but I'm not very good with it and micing it is a nightmare with the stuff I've got.

And actually, it won't be a drum machine so much as it will be Garageband drums.

I'm throwing this question out here because it didn't really strike me a drums forum question. Thanks.

• Members

I write all my songs with a drum machine, and then I bring them to my band and let my drummer and bass player develop their parts further.

Half the time I like my demos better, my drummer uses too many cymbles.;)

The gear doesn't matter, it's the song that counts.

• Members

Originally posted by orourke

I write all my songs with a drum machine, and then I bring them to my band and let my drummer and bass player develop their parts further.

Half the time I like my demos better, my drummer uses too many cymbles.
;)

Haha, don't you hate it when they use the ride cymbal too much and it just "softens" the groove?

• Members

listen to early They Might Be Giants records - would those sound the same with real drums? Where would rap be if it didn't rely on artificial music and rhythms?

everything has its place, just be tasteful about it. It depends on who your audience is. If you're writing electronic music, synth drums are the way to go (or loops of real drums). If you're writing rock music, it's harder to pull off good sounding synth drums, but you can do it.

I record demos for my band either to Garageband drums or a metronome if the rhythm is too far from 4/4 or 12/8. Then we re-write the song using the parts on the demo, or we just wing that mother till it sounds good. I play metal, so real drums are a requirement. but i used to record my own music and I loved my cheap-o drum machine.

• Members

just be tasteful...

If your audience if mostly Metalica head bangin metal dudes.They tend too be very close minded..