Best fuzz for doom?

Soundstorm

• Members

Kind of a fuzz noob here. Tried a friend's little Big Muff on the NMV mode on my Matamp this weekend. The tone was good, and almost there but not quite. Lacked a little punch and thickness. I imagine there are tons of great muff type fuzzes out there, which is your favorite?

• Replies 59
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Members

First off, give me your matamp. I've been looking high and low for a GT1. They sound amazing.

Second, if you want a little "oomph" out of your muff, stack it with a proco rat. If you're looking for something more boutique, I like the Wren and Cuff style muffs.

Finally, can't go wrong with the FZ-2.

• Members

I've said this before, but the best I've heard was a 5150 and a box of metal. YMMV.

For your Matamp, it depends on what kind of DOOM tone you're looking for?

I picked up a Aaron SS Green Russian Muff thingie that sounds great......It's edging out my HOOF.

OTherwise, I've always thought great Stoner/Doom tone comes from two layers. One amp/cab on the edge of break up with a muff into it, and one amp/cab with a Marshally tone coming out of it. Mix those together and :love:

• Members

GS, willing to spend a couple hundred or so. I really like the DAM pedals, but have a hard time letting go of $350 for a one knob fuzz.

GK, with a bass/guitar rig I've got enough to haul around without adding a third amp lol....not sure which band I could compare the tone I'm after to, maybe Yob? I love the tone of the Matamp but it doesn't have enough saturation unless I cranked it with a power soak

• Members

GK, with a bass/guitar rig I've got enough to haul around without adding a third amp lol....not sure which band I could compare the tone I'm after to, maybe Yob? I love the tone of the Matamp but it doesn't have enough saturation unless I cranked it with a power soak

Are you looking to run heavy gain most of the time?

Have you tried just a simple input booster?

Meatheads have a cool grinding fuzz.