window shopping for a small body acoustic

aussieguitarnut

• Members

today i hit denmark st just to have a look at some guitars and get a feel for whats out there. i already have a cole clark fl2ac (fantastic big sounding dreadnought) and a liberty L100 (resonator). i've been hankering for a small body something or other - a parlour or 000 or just something small and comfy and good for picking and blues. i'm no expert so just throwing this our for any feedback and opinions. in my travels today i bumped into:

larrivee p-05: lovely little parlour. much louder than i expected. really punchy sound for such a small guitar. nice to pick up and play. i found it felt a bit tight to play - is that how most parlours feel? i'd like to spend some more time with one. i'd like to check out some other larrivee models too but they aren't so easy to come across here in london.

martin 000-15s: love the slotted headstock and plain vibe. played nice enough. nice mellow sound. didn't scream 'buy me buy me' but cool in its own way.

k-yairi G1F and rag 65: i was super impressed by the finish on these guitars. they look absolutely stunning - knock out. for the money its quite unbelievable. i didn't find either of them that easy to play but i suspect the shop needs to sort the setups on them. it was hard for me to get a gauge on the sound too cause they felt so uninspiring. worth another look though - i don't think they were done justice by the shop.

martin 00028-ec: this was the last one i picked up and it was the one i felt that if i had the money in my wallet i would have just chucked it on the counter and been done with it. i guess understandable considering its worth a lot more than the others. in any case it played like a dream - just totally effortless and had such a beautifully balanced sound. i think i need one or at least a guitar very similar.