Norman Guitars

karst

• Members

I am looking at buying a good solid top guitar in the $300 to

$400 dollar range. I recently tried a Norman B20 HG and

really liked the sound. It has vintage Grover tuners, has been set

up to lower the action, and the saddle (taylor) and bridge pins (bone) have been replaced. It is used (about 5 years old) and has been taken really good care of. Does anyone have anything bad to say about Norman guitars?

• Members

Normans are made by the Godin company who also makes Seagull, Simon & Patrick and Art & Lutherie acoustics. I've never played a Norman but if they are anything like the other Godin acoustics it will be a well-made good sounding guitar.

• Members

Yes. I play a B20-12. I've been playing it for about 8 months. Bought it off my luthier who distributes them for Norman here in Louisville, KY. I paid about 625.00 (US) with the hardshell case. I like it well enough but I wish it had more volume at the high end. The action was a little high when I bought it but I took it that way just to get some time on it "as is". Three months later I took it back and had the action adjusted which included shaving the bridge down in order to lower the saddle and allow neck adjustment. I found it much more playable. I have a moderately fast fingerpicking style and need finer tolerances on the action than as set up from the factory. Still, I think the treble a bit weak. Otherwise, it seems to be of sturdy construction and has a good plain look about it, IMO. It is a great guitar for the money and perhaps a little underpriced considering the quality of workmanship and materials. One thing I did notice is that it is more sensitive to changes in humidity than any other guitar I have owned so you might keep that in mind if you expect to be exposing it to climate changes - especially higher humidity. It doesn't like that.

• Members