To Les Paul or not to Les Paul

HighVolter29

• Members

Hi,

I'm a newbie. Now that this is stated, I can explain my thread :p

Well, It's been 2 year I own a Takamine accoustic guitar and 1 year I own a Godin Freeway Classic. I really dig playing guitar. It's nothing too serious... more for pleasure and fun. I'm planning with a couple of friends to play in a show at my college. I might tell you which song I plan to play so you know what kind of music I play:

1 - AC/DC - Back in Black

2 - Alexisonfire - "Hey it's your funeral mama!"

3 - RATM - Bombtrack

4 - At the drive-in - One Armed Scissor

So as I was saying, It's been 1 year I play on my Godin Freeway Classic ( http://www.godinguitars.com/godinfreewayclassicp.htm ) and I want to define my sound. I have a cube 30 amp and I started to hate te distortion. So I bought a Electro-Harmonix English Muff'n pedal and it rocks !!! :cool:

I though also of buying new Seymour Duncans pickups... something like JB4 to get a Les Paul-ish hard rock sound. But then I though that maybe because of how my Freeway is made and the wood (I really don't know anything about all that stuff....) it would give me the LP sound. So then I though of buying an Epiphone. The one I like is about 490$CDN. I've seen a lot of people on the forum talk about the Agile LP copies... I really like this one: http://www.rondomusic.net/al28003tsashtop.html maybe an al3000 would be better for the wood, I don't know... I propably will change the pickups for some Duncans.

So I don't know what to do, should I just put new pickups in my Godin or will a LP type guitar will really sound different from the actual setup I have. Some things are certain, I don't have a lot of money and I don't plan on selling my Freeway for now...

I would really appreciate some inputs!

Thanks

• Members