Making a living,and/or career.

y1p33y0

• Members

Sorry if wall, or wrong location. Im new.

I am at a crossroads in my life. I am 18, and have to go off to college. Problem is, I dont know what I want to do. I have been playing guitar for about 3 years or so now. All self-taught, so I dont know much about scales or music theory. However thats something I think I really want to learn, just to know and to improve my playing. The school im looking at there are only 2 degrees that interest me. Computer Science, and guitar/music theory (idk the proper title of degree yet). I believe they are both bachelors. The cs degree is cool, because I do like computers and have an interest in learning how to develope software, and/or 3d modeling. Problem with that, I am terrible at math. So I was really thinking about buying a classical guitar and starting myself down a long road. Because whatever I go for im gonna give it my best shot. I will want to know as much music theory as possible. Mostly though, I would like to start a music career if I am getting a degree. My influences are mostly thrash metal. Megadeth,Metallica,Slayer,Anthrax,Pantera,Annihilator,Testament,Municipal Waste, and Evile are my favorite thrash bands. But I still do listen to some underground hiphop, Bob Marley, Rush, Sublime, chill stuff.

I understand that everyone has their own "style", but not everyone is a rockstar, right? I mean. If I get my degree in music, is there still a chance that I will go no where? I dont want to make millions. Hardly thousands. I just want to make a living. If I learn all this music stuff, and still cant get anywhere im gonna feel like a douchebag. And im not doing it "just" to make money. But I dont want to have to be sleeping in a random bathroom stall somewhere in a smelly city for the rest of my life.

Topic questions-

1. What is the job outlook for people with a degree in music?

2. Is it worth trying to make a career of music? or hobby?