What do you get? What would you like to get more of?

Something Ken said in another thread got me thinking:

For some reason, I don't get hardcore or metal anymore. I'm getting experimental, pop, ethereal, rock, etc. mostly. I'd like to get more international and folk.

So I thought I would ask:

1. What genre(s) do you most often work in?

2. Is that by choice / preference, client demand, or a combination of the two?

3. What genre(s) would you like to do, or do more of?

4. What genre(s) would you like to do LESS of?

5. If you're not completely happy with the stuff you're doing, what are you doing about it? (which kinda ties into the "finding talent" thread. :) )

I look forward to reading your responses. :):wave:

• Members

I've been working in dance music for the past 20+ years. I'd like to branch out and do some rock in the Zep vein, but it's hard finding the right band for it, I'd probably have to put it together myself, and I don't really have the time to put aside to do that.

The musician pool is a helluva lot thinner also, because all your would-be guitarists-drummers and now getting decks and drum machines instead. They want to DJ and rap because it's easier.

• Members

Experimental, pop, ethereal, rock.

A combination of the two. I'm really happy recording just about any genre, although I feel like I need some sort of connection to the music. I fortunately listen to just about every genre, and perhaps many that are off most people's radar.

International music, folk, dub

The "bad musicians" genre. :D

• Members

Rock here. Sometimes on the classic and blues side, sometimes on the metal side. I definitely do what some would consider power pop - Nirvana/Weezer-ish.

I love working with 3 piece bands.

I'd like to do a little more Singer/Songwriter/Acoustic Rock/Folk, too. One of my favorite projects was something like I just mentioned above - Chadwick.

• Members

Rock, pop, punk, hardcore, acoustic/singer-songwriter stuff