Help With Mixing

• Members

I'm new to home recording. I find that laying the individual tracks down is no problem. I can get the exact sounds I'm aiming for with little drama. My problem is when it comes to making the tracks into a song. I find it difficult to mix all the parts so it has a smooth even sound across the whole song, and making it sound like a finished piece.

I always end up sounding, well, amateur! I know I am, but I sure as hell don't want it to sound like I am.

Is there any tricks or effects to lay down across the whole song that will bring together? Are there any tips you can throw my way to get the mix right?

Here's hoping.

• Moderators

Figure out how to bring up a stereo mix you like from a CD or iTunes into your DAW. It could be just importing a stereo file into a track. Now lower that fader cause it's going to be way louder than your stuff. That's just cause it's mastered. Don't concern yourself with that. Really... don't. Not yet. So try to create an even playing field by lower that mixed file's level.

Now go about A/B'ing.

Listen to the pro release. Listen to yours. Back, forth. Kick? Vocal? Reverb? Why's my snare so funky. Funky {censored}ty, not funky. What's the difference?

A/B.

Keep doing it. Everybody does. Even the guys cranking out hits everyday.

• Members

I'm a musician! I don't have money to spend on books:rolleyes:

You'll spend money to buy a computer, a DAW, microphones, musical instruments, but not want to buy a $30 book?

Google and Electronic Musician articles are your friend then.

There is no "trick". You listen. Then listen some more. Then you tweak. Then you listen. Then you tweak. Then you listen. What happens when you tweak? You learn the basics. You learn about EQing, panning, placement, reverb, delays, compression, limiting, and everything.

And you'll do it on a trial and error basis, more so than most people.

And why is that?

Because you won't have a book.