Small Amp - Build this, or buy that?

kmarsh

• Members

OK, so I'm still a noob... been playing around 7 months or so. I have a Vox DA5 that is great for family room hacking. I just met a guy in the neighborhood who also plays (much better) and he has asked me to stop over some time to jam with him and another guy who plays drums. I really don't think I'm up to the point of taking him up on his offer (I suck and am a bit of a "slow learner" :lol: ) but, maybe soon... when I get better... when I get up a bit more courage... heck, when I can play a song or two through the whole way without stopping 3 times. Anyway, I think I want/need a bigger amp.

I have an electronics background and am really intrigued with the Fender tweed clone amp kits. Mission Amps has a highly regarded "5E3" kit for $650 and I REALLY like the looks of the old, tweed amps. I think it'd be a pretty easy build. Problem is, it's "only" 15 watts, which I've been told is not big enough to stand up to a drummer.

On the other hand, I can get a new Peavey Classic 30 for $600 (30 watts), and it has reverb, "effects loop" (not that I need that now anyway... and, when DO you need it? can't most pedals go between the guitar and amp input???). I can probably get a used one for $400 or so.

So... I'm torn. Aside from "get what you like", any sage advice? I've been focusing on blues/blues rock and have a Fender Strat and an Ibanez AS73 (335 clone). The "real" Fender '57 Deluxe tweed reissue is like $1,700, so I'm thinking a good, point-to-point wired clone of it for $650 is a steal... but, the Peavey sounds nice, too... and maybe more practical(?) :confused:

• Members

If you can build an amp .... go buy an old real fender that needs work, Or just buy an amp. the only thing to gain from building an amp is the personal satisfacton of building one. You would be better served taking your talent and reviving vintage tube amps. rat

• Members