NGD- Mexi Strat FTW!

Auslander

• Members

Guys,

My father-in-law has discovered a new cure for his GAS- he now just buys guitars for my son and me! That way, when my mother-in-law gets mad, he has the perfect defense. In any event, he got me my birthday present today (2 months early, no less)- a sweet Mexi-strat. This is my first "real" guitar and I am thrilled to no end with it.

DSCN3420.jpg

Here are the twins:

DSCN3421.jpg

I have a few questions for you guys, seeing as how I am a noob at this stuff-

The Fender Bulletts that are standard- are they 9s? I usually use 11s, and I wonder how the trem will handle the heavier strings. Also, the guitar keeps going flat- is this due to the strings, the tremelo, or is there something wrong with the guitar?

• Members

they is 9s, could be going flat cause the strings are still new, put on 11s, if they still go flat too fast, tighten the tremolo claw and/or add more springs to the tremolo.

enjoy it, the standard strat is a damn good guitar for the money. you may not be playing the fity one much anymore.

• Members

I haven't really been using the whammy at all. It seems like when I finish tuning the last string, the first one is going flat already. It seems consistent across all the strings. It feels like the strings are stretching to me. I may just go ahead and re-string it tomorrow with 11s and see how it goes.

• Members

Guys,

My father-in-law has discovered a new cure for his GAS- he now just buys guitars for my son and me! That way, when my mother-in-law gets mad, he has the perfect defense. In any event, he got me my birthday present today (2 months early, no less)- a sweet Mexi-strat. This is my first "real" guitar and I am thrilled to no end with it.

DSCN3420.jpg

Here are the twins:

DSCN3421.jpg

I have a few questions for you guys, seeing as how I am a noob at this stuff-