fender amp guys

Leftovercrack

• Members

i posted this over in the amp forum but didnt really get any responses, so im looking to upgrade my fender hot rod deville to something that sounds better. im looking for another fender style amp and i really like the twin reverb but its a bit pricey for me. i was wondering what else i should be looking at. whats the deluxe reverb like? im a regular gigging musician (with a crazy heavy handed drummer) so im worried about maintaining head room. i rely on pedals for all my dirt aswell. and ive never played a vibrolux either im thinking 40 watts should be enough. oh and what are good prices for some of these amps used too

• Members

deluxe reverbs are 22watts and twins are 85watts. They are both about the same price. dual showmans are 85 watts also. You can get a twin RI for $800 or so used. I have a dual showman and a twin reverb RI and they have plenty of headroom.

• Members

I'd have to concur with the Twin. I have 2 1972s and I have a DRRI (I also have two Bassman heads a 1969 drip edge Silverface and a 1966 Blackface).
The Twin delivers the clean volume and that oomphy thump that is produced by 4 6L6s hammering away at two quality 12" speakers. No other amp quite like the Twin Reverb.

• Members

silverface Twin with no reverb can be a working amp ... REAL LOUD. i didn't think the clean was bad at low volumes. it was clean for christsakes. that being said ....

one word - Mesa. drummer will need to hit the gym 8 hours a day and take steroids to keep up with you.

• Members

There are quite a few options actually, it all depends on what you comfort level is with used amps.

First, just to cover this base, the current Custom Vibrolux Reverb is not a good choice. They took what used to be a Vibroverb 2x10 RI (one of the first Fender RI's) and tweaked it into an overdrive machine...removed negative feedback loop, changed gain structure of the channels, etc. It's not built for clean headroom (it could be rewired for such).