I need to get out of California

• Members

Cost of living is killing me. I work three jobs, make six figures and still can't seem to get ahead out here. I can't even begin to look at buying a home that doesn't require a three hour commute.

Been thinking about getting out of SoCal for awhile now, but now it looks like I have to make it a reality.

I think I wanna move to Nashville, but I don't have a client base there to keep me busy. How difficult is it to break into the live sound scene out there? I have 15 years of large scale sound experience, FOH and Monitors, Special Event, Tour, Festival...

I slowed down a few years ago due to a heart attack. Tried doing the desk job thing, but its not as satisfying.But the doctors say I'm doing great, I've dropped some weight and feel great, and I wanna get back to doing what I love and what I good at.

Anybody got any ideas? Fantasticsound, you out there?

-Mike

• Replies 115
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Members

Cost of living is killing me. I work three jobs, make six figures and still can't seem to get ahead out here. I can't even begin to look at buying a home that doesn't require a three hour commute.

-Mike

Dude! You must have some serious money management issues! Get rid of the cell phone, your Direct TV subscription and all that other bull{censored}. Seriously... post an accounting of your monthly outgoing and I'll give you some pointers.

• Members

GY, while I would agree that a six-figure income should be quite good, GearMike says that he's achieving that by working three jobs. It sounds like he's working his ass off here.

However, I would agree with GY that you should be able to buy something on a six-figure income (I own a house on a public school teacher's salary, well below six figures).

• Members

Ken

Buying a house ten or twelve years ago in Cali wasn't too hard... but these days you have to be making 6 figures JUST to qualify for a loan, pretty much.