Which Fender single coils have the "classic" strat sound... and which doesn't?

Jkater

• Members

Sorry for reformulating this question. My other thread got no response.

Which pups should I be looking for when choosing a strat so as to get the "classic" strat sound? (whatever this may mean to you)

Some may say that pups are easily changed but that doesn't appeal to me on a new guitar.

I am looking at buying a strat but I am a real nOOb. Playability is also very important. I read that the new standard strat has "rounded" edges and med. Jumbo frets. I like that. The CP50 has many attractive features but the "soft V" neck is a question mark and I wonder about the quality consistency of the MIM strats.

Give me your thoughts and share your experience.

Thanks!

• Members

I played a new '08 amstd strat recently, in fact I played a bunch. I found the pups to be bleh. I like texas specials in my srv strat, but I wouldn't call them a classic strat sound. However, the SRV is the first stock strat I've played where I wouldn't consider changing the pups.

I suggest you check out the hwy 1 series of strats.

• Members
IMO, the stock MIM Strat pups nail the "classic" strat sound. I've yet to change them out, and I probably never will.

What year MIM Strat are you talking about? In my current build project, the original MIM pickups (1995 vintage), were the weediest, most nasally, horrible sounding things I've ever heard. I was going to sell them, but I think I couldn't inflict them on some poor unsuspecting soul prepared to pay cash for them. I'll probably just burn them, in the interests of good taste ;)

• Members

I don't care for MIM Strat pickups at all...they sound anemic, harsh and brittle to my ears, and they're virtually unusable in the 1, 3 and 5 positions with even moderate amounts of overdrive.

If you're looking for a Fender-made product, a lot of people like the 57/62's.