Bad Cat Panther Reverb.

mayorstoner1

• Members

Hello, Folks. I'm a newbie to this forum, so forgive any faux paus, etc.

One quick question. I'm the proud owner of a used Bad Cat Panther 1-12 combo. The amp is top draw in every way, especially build quality.

My only concern is the reverb. In Channel 1, it's almost non-existant, until the reverb knob is almost all the way up. In Channel 2, it's very lush and full with the reverb only on about 5. When the channels are mixed as long as Channel 2 is set higher, the 'verb is about normal. I e-mailed Bad Cat, and James said, this is normal because Channel 2 is ef-86 powered[hotter] and Channel 1 is 12AX7 powered[milder]. I'm not so sure about this explanation. The amp seems unaltered in anyway. Any comments or advice ? M.S.

• Members

" Thanks Phil. By the way, it's one hell of an amp. Built like a tank, sturdy parts and construction, heavy as hell. I'm basically a Fender-Mesa/Boogie guy, so it's a little different for me. Maybe, that's why the reverb seems a little weak to me. But, I was looking for something a little different than those, anyway.

I haven't gigged with it yet, so, we'll see how it goes 'on the job'.

The Panther has 4 6V6's for power tubes, instead of their famous EL-84s.

I really like Fender Deluxe Reverbs, but, live, I always wished they had a little more 'everything'-volume,fullness, stage coverage. But, like I said, I was kinda' looking for something different, this time around. It's plenty loud and the tone controls have plenty of good interaction. M.S.

• Members

"

I really like Fender Deluxe Reverbs, but, live, I always wished they had a little more 'everything'-volume,fullness, stage coverage. But, like I said, I was kinda' looking for something different, this time around. It's plenty loud and the tone controls have plenty of good interaction. M.S.