Kid Rock: How the Detroit rocker scored a monster hit with "All Summer Long"

• Members

A lot of people are dissing Kid Rock for putting together a track that people just love -- to the tune of almost 1.5 million albums sold this summer...

http://www.rollingstone.com/news/story/22212278/kid_rocks_hot_summer_no_itunes_required

Good music just doesn't go out of style

Love him or hate him, he's right.

he's the only artist that's not available on iTunes with a monster hit right now

Personally I think it's a cool track, I've been doing it for a few months. People love it. :thu:

• Replies 78
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Members

He took well known riffs from long standing hit songs and sang mediocre vocals of inane content over them.

It proves the strength of the riffs for being catchy all these years later but the best it says of him is he recognized similar rhythms can be tied together and was able to masturbate to the beat.

Yeah Kid Rock, he did what any monkey could do!!! :rolleyes:

• Members

He took well known riffs from long standing hit songs and sang mediocre vocals of inane content over them.

It proves the strength of the riffs for being catchy all these years later but the best it says of him is he recognized similar rhythms can be tied together and was able to masturbate to the beat.

Yeah Kid Rock, he did what any monkey could do!!!
:rolleyes:

But any monkey didn't do it. Kid did.

Kid Rock is no musical genius, in fact I can't stand most of his material. But he knows how to put together an entertaining package and sell it.

• Members

+1

He just distributed a re-mix of other people's hits. Hooray for Capitalism. :idea:

• Members

In his case, he knows who his audience is, and caters to it. A good number of his fans don't have internet connections or iPods, their only record store is Walmart, and they love their Skynyrd. It's a model that totally works for him; not sure it would work for a lot of other artists, though.

• Members