Justin Timberlake copyright infringement suit...

davd_indigo

• Members

I went back and forth several times and could hear the similarity. I continue to believe that that copyright should be on the melody and chord changes. Arrangements, in my mind, should not be copyrighted material. I'm not a lawyer, I'm just using my common sense and intelligence. I think this is scary as far as using influences creatively. No artist is an island. Everyone is influenced by someone else's music, writing, painting, whatever. Of course lawyers don't know or care - they're just looking for litigation opportunities.

http://www.nydailynews.com/entertainment/music/justin-timberlake-accused-copying-song-article-1.2535241

• Members

So if I was the judge:

"Defendant, please play the song on piano and sing it."

"Plaintiff, please play the song on piano and sing it. Or if there aren't vocals, hum it"

...listens...

"Case dismissed.:

Where does it stop: A microphone company saying the distinctive drum sound is due to their microphone? And if you use the same preset someone else used, is that a problem? Granted, the organ riff is really similar, if not identical in spots. But is that what made the song a hit?

If plaintiff wins the lawsuit, will they share some of the bucks with the organ player, the engineer who miked the drums, and whoever did the mix to make the drums sound like that?

Look, I'm in favor of intellectual property having value. But once I asked Quincy Jones if Michael Jackson was upset about the people sampling him. Quincy said "He doesn't care, he knows no one can sample his soul." Good point.

• Members
Well for openers, the NY Daily News needs to get something right.

It's JC Davis and NOT JD Davis, as stated in the article.

And that organ riff sounds a little "Secret Agent" if you know what I mean.

Yet people will persist........

Society has become way too litigious. And if you disagree, I'll sue you :)

• Members