Rethinking epoxy for headstock repairs

Freeman Keller

• Members

There have been several threads lately on headstock repair and following the advice of Dan Erlewine and my own good experiences, I have suggested epoxy as a viable adhesive for headstocks. I recently did two repairs using StewMac slow setting epoxy, one which seems to be fine, the other one failed when we tried to put strings on the guitar.

I'm currently rethinking both the general use of epoxy and this particular repair, but in the mean time I didn't want anyone following what might be bad advice.

• Members

My rule of thumb has always been

- hide glue for wood to wood when I can clamp it and the working time is very short. I also always try to use it if its vintage correct. I'm still learning how to use it

- AR (Titebond II) for any good wood to wood joint where I can clamp it. That is 90 percent of my building

- Long set epoxy ( 5 to 24 hour) if there is a lot of wood damage and I don't have to ever get it apart in the future. I thought I understood this stuff until today

- Various super glues (thin, medium, gel) when I can't clamp and don't want to take it apart ever. Special uses are hairline cracks, bindings, inlay and drop filling poly finishes.

I don't know any thing about gorilla glue, white carpenters glue, 5 minute epoxy. I'll report back as I work with the epoxy problem.

• Members

The few headstock repairs I have done have been with carpenter's glue. They were clean breaks and the pieces were not damaged (most of them remained attached) so they were easy to fit together and clamp. On some I would use a syringe to get some warmed up glue deep into the break.

Once a well known guitarist brought me his ES-175 with the classic Gibson headstone break and I sat on it for a couple of weeks until I felt brave enough to do the work. Late one night after returning home from a gig it just seemed like the right time. I was confident, relaxed and methodical and I felt good about the work.