X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Epiphone SG-400 1966 limited edition vs Epiphone Les Paul Standard Plus Top

Hi guys,

I have been playing guitar for about 6 years and have decided to treat myself on a new electric guitar. Since I'm not really thinking of spending much, I have considered these 2 guitars as they were both sold at the same price on ebay (Brand new).

So here's my question, which of the 2 guitars would you choose and why? Please give me your opinions. (unbias with the shape of the guitar).

Thanks guys!

If your not set on a Gibson type you might hold out and see what the next Fender-Friday deal is going to be. They have been blowing out guitars at great prices recently. Yesterdays was a Fender Blackout Tele for $299 that usually goes for around $600.

At any rate...Of those two I would get the LP type because I am not a huge fan of those vintage SG neck joints.

For the $550 or so on that LP you are kind of close to the used price of a Les Paul Studio with hard case. I would prol' just save the extra cash. You can find them on CL for about $700.

Comment

Both are good choices. If you don't already have a LP-style guitar, that might be a better choice. I would still lean toward the G-400 - it's a really nice, fun guitar with a fast neck and lots of tonal variation.
      i'll meet you at the bottom if there really is one. they tell me when you hit it you'll know it. i've been falling so long it's like gravity is gone and i'm just floating.

Comment

The LP kicks the SG in the pants!
        The LP is heavier, stronger, can be twirled around without fear of snapping a thin neckjoint....
        so of course the choice is yours, but if you don't already own one, I'd say Go For The LP
        FTW!!!
        60's Classic Vibe Jazz Bass
        Vintage Modified Jaguar Bass
        Acoustic B200/115
        Sansamp DI/Boss TU-3
        Marshall MGHDFX-100/a
        Digitech RP-355

Comment